Instagram doesn’t provide any straightforward process to hide chats. The only method to hide chats on Instagram is to change your account to a professional creator account and then you can select the conversation you want to hide by using the general tab.
If you are wondering how to hide Instagram chats, then you are at the right place here I will show you step-by-step how you can easily hide Instagram chats. Read this article to the end.
Introduction of Hiding Chats on Instagram?
As we have discussed earlier, Instagram doesn’t provide any option to have a direct hide chat feature.
Also, you can switch your personal Instagram account to a creative account.
When you have switched your account to the creator account, whoever accessing your direct messages will only be able to see the chats on the primary section at first glance.
Also, note one thing people can see your hidden conversations if they click on the general tab option.
Hiding Instagram chat is great for preserving your privacy when taking screenshots of your direct messages which is also an crucial part of digital marketing courses. When you have received a message from someone you don’t know but if you want to keep it private you can definitely move your conversation to the general tab and after that take a screenshot.
Later, you can move your chat to the primary tab or else you can keep it hidden in the general tab.
After all, not everyone wants to switch their account from a personal to a creator account. So, if you really want to hide your chats on a personal account, then you easily do that by muting or deleting the chats.
Now, I will explain to you in detail how you can hide Instagram chats by just following the below-mentioned steps.
How To Hide Chats on a Personal Account?
There are majorly two options you can follow if you are looking forward to hiding chats on a personal Instagram account:
- You can hide by muting the chats
- Or else you can Delete the entire conversation
How To Mute Chats on Instagram?
Step 1: Launch Instagram on your mobile device.
Step 2: Now, click on the direct messages icon which is shown at the top or you can also swipe left on your screen.
Step 3: Now, you can swipe left on the chat that you wish to mute (or long-press the chat on Android devices)
Step 4: After that select “Mute” from the list of options that appear
Step 5: Now, you have confirmed it by tapping on the “Mute” once again
Bonus Read: How to Delete an Address on Amazon
How To Delete Chats on Instagram?
Step 1: First of all, you have to launch Instagram on your device.
Step 2: Now, click on the direct messages icon which is shown at the top right corner or else you can also swipe left on the screen.
Step 3: After that, you have to swipe left on the chat which you want to mute (or else you can long-press the chat on Android devices)
Step 4: Tap on the “Delete” option from the list that appears.
Step 5: Now, you have to confirm it by clicking on “Delete” once again.
Note to Remember: Let me clarify with you one thing guys, if you have deleted your chat on Instagram, then there is no chance or option to recover that chats again, it’s permanently deleted. However, the chat is deleted only from your side, but the other people in the conversation will still have the access to the messages that they have exchanged.
How To Hide Chats on a Creator Account?
If you are having a creator account, then you can also have the option to hide chats by simply dividing your direct messages into the primary and general sections.
When you have separated your direct messages, at that time only the conversation which you have made under the primary section will appear when you open the messages.
Bonus Read: How to Add a Table to an Email in Gmail
How to Switch to a Creator Account on Instagram?
Step 1: Open your Instagram app on your device.
Step 2: Now, you have to tap on the Profile icon which is shown at the bottom right corner of the screen.
Step 3: Click on the menu icon (three stacked lines) which is shown at the top-right corner of the screen.
Step 4: Now, go to “Setting”, then click on “Account.”
Step 5: After that scroll down to the bottom and click on the “Switch to professional account” option.
Step 6: Click on the “Continue” which is shown at the bottom of the following 4 pages till to get the list of the professional categories
Step 7: Now, choose any of the categories and click on “Done” which is shown at the bottom of the page.
Step 8: On the very next page you will get an option to select the “Creator” account, then click on the “Next.”
Step 9: Now, click on the “Not Now” which is under the “Share logins using Accounts Center”
Step 10: After that click on the “X” button which is shown at the top-right corner of the page you have to click on that button, so that you can complete the set-up of the creator account.
How To Hide Chats on Creator Account on Instagram?
Step 1: Open Instagram on your device.
Step 2: Click on the direct messages icon which is shown at the top-right corner of the screen.
Step 3: After, that scroll down to the chat which you want to hide and then swipe left o it (or long-press on Android devices).
Step 4: In this step, you have to select the “Move to General” button
At first glance, after changing the chat to the general tab, you will discover that you can only see the chats under the primary tab. You’ll need to touch on “General” to read the messages hidden in the general tab.
To return a chat to the primary tab, enter direct messages and then choose “General.” Swipe left on the chat you want to unhide (or long-press the chat on Android devices) and select “Move to Primary.”
Bonus Read: How to Add Photos to Google Review in 2023
How To Hide Instagram chats on Live?
If you are looking forward to knowing how to hide Instagram chat on Live? Then you are at the right place, here I will show you step by step How you can easily do this.
Step 1: Launch the Instagram app on your device and navigate to your profile.
Step 2: Now, click on the three dots which is shown at the top-right corner and then go to the “Settings” option.
Step 3: After that scroll down to the “Privacy” and click on it.
Step 4: Now, you have to select “Story Settings.”
Step 5: Disable the ‘Allow Resharing’ option. This will prohibit anyone from sharing your story with their followers, allowing only those who already follow you to see it.
Step 6: Every time you go live on Instagram from now on, only your followers will be able to view the chat; anyone who isn’t following you won’t have access to it.
Bonus Read: Top Digital Marketing Agencies in Amritsar
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s)
Can you hide a conversation on Instagram?
In fact, it’s quite easy to hide direct messages on Instagram. Just go to your Instagram messages and find the conversation you want to keep private. Swipe up to delete the discussion from your Instagram account after that.
How do you hide DMs on Instagram without deleting them?
This method involves using the vanish mode feature on Instagram to hide messages without deleting them. If you wish to hide some chats on Instagram, there is a workaround that has been tested and is not an official way. The steps for applying the vanish mode technique are as follows;
Step 1: Open the Instagram app on your mobile device
Step 2: Go to your Inbox where you can able to see all your Instagram messages
Step 3: In the Inbox screen, you will find the chat which you want to hide or delete, now tap to open it.
Step 4: Now you can swipe your screen, and this will turn on the “Vanish” mode.
Step 5: Now all the conversations inside the chosen thread will be removed, and you will now have the empty screen displayed for you.
How do you hide chat on Instagram Live
- You should start by clicking on the Live button to start broadcasting
- Once you are live, click on the three vertical dots which is shown on the right side of the comment box.
- Select Turn off Commenting from the list of options that appear on the screen.
Can I archive chats on Instagram?
Yes, definitely you can archive chats on Instagram, first of all, you have to tap on the chat which you want to archive, then swipe up on the chat to turn on the vanish mode. In this process, you can easily archive your conversations. But when you have signed up again, your older chats will display again.